Skip to content


About drivers education

Cloquet Community Education offers Drivers Education to Cloquet and Fond du Lac students only.

Steps for those under 18 to get a Minnesota Drivers License:

1. Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction.

2. Complete behind-the-wheel training.

The following is taken from the MN Department of Public Safety website:

Applicant Qualifications:

  • Must be at least 15 years of age
  • Must have completed the appropriate amount of classroom instruction and be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction
  • Must pass vision and knowledge (written) tests, complete application and pay the required fee
  • Parent or legal guardian's signature and certification required on application

You receive your BLUE CARD after completing 30 hours of classroom instruction.

3. Take and pass the state permit test.

Students registering for permit test must provide: one primary ID, one secondary ID, and the blue card.

Primary ID options: state issued ID, current passport, or state certified birth certificate.

Secondary ID options: Social Security card, student ID with picture and ID number or certified school transcript.

Complete list of ID accepted

Driver Exam Station: 4602 Grand Ave, Duluth (Denfeld Plaza), 218-628-4925.

>>Knowledge (permit) written tests cannot be taken after 3:45 pm.<<

To sign up for a time to take the knowledge (permit) test, go to:  https://onlineservices.dps.mn.gov/Eservices/_/

4. Complete behind-the-wheel training (six hours). Student must have permit before they can start behind-the-wheel instruction. You must call the BTW instructor to set up training times. BTW instructor will issue a white card upon completion or you can pick it up at the Community Education office with presentation of your third successful drive.

5. Complete the six-month practice period. Minnesota law now requires drivers to have a permit for six months before taking the road test. Drive 50 hours or more with your parent/guardian (15 of which must be at night). Complete your driving log.  If you and your parent attend a Point of Impact class, you will get credit for 10 hours of practice.

6. Pass road test. To take road test, student must be 16 years old and have had their permit for six months. Drive on provisional license until qualifications for full license are met.

You will need the following to take road test: permit, white card, driving log, parent/guardian, social security number and a vehicle to drive for the test (with proof of auto insurance).